Dick’s Drive-In, Dangerously delicious…

9 Nov

That was way too easy…

Last night I got a hankering for some good ‘ol fashion grease and succumbed to the temptation of Dick’s Drive-In. I recently moved to Queen Anne, just a short 2 blocks away from the gloriousness that is Dick’s…. which is a dangerous combination for a spontaneous diner like myself. It’s going to take a whole lot of self control to keep this from becoming a habit because it was just too easy.  [I literally rationalized going because we were already taking the pup on a walk...] I convinced the boyfriend he needed a shake and we were off.

Two orders of fries, a Dick’s Deluxe, and 2 shakes (chocolate & strawberry) later we were settled cozily on the couch enjoying our greasy fix. Let me begin by saying I really, really, REALLY love french fries. What I love even more than fries are the condiments to dip them in. I keep a well stocked fridge of ketchup, BBQ sauce, dressings, etc. but nothing could prepare me for the brilliance that my boyfriend introduced me to. I grabbed a tray to bring our tasty treats over to the couch and my boyfriend (as if this was the standard thing to do) stopped me,  then placed a ramekin filled with chocolate shake on the tray with a look that said “how dare you try to leave before the chocolate shake dipper was ready”.

Fries about to be dipped in chocolate shake… brilliance

Wow. Fries dipped in chocolate shake. It doesn’t get much better when you really want a grease fix in Seattle, and it’s definitely a result of both ingredients already being so delicious on their own. The fries are touted as 100% real potatoes that are hand cut daily, which begs the question – What are those other burger joints feeding us??? You can taste the freshness of the fries and I really appreciate that, especially when they’re available for a mere $1.50 per order. [Again... this is TOO easy!] As for the shakes, they’re amazing as well. The fact that they use REAL ice cream, and actually make it soft enough to sip through a straw makes it a great experience. [Huge pet peeve of mine is when a shake is too frozen/hard to actually use the straw.] Both the chocolate and strawberry versions had great flavor that really complemented the fries & burger–  Not overly sweet, but just enough to play well with the salt and grease.

Moving on to the burger… I can’t fault the Dick’s Deluxe (double 1/8 pound grilled patties with melted cheese, lettuce, mayonnaise and pickle relish on a fresh, locally made bun) for anything. It’s a great burger, and even better dipped in a little ketchup if you ask me! Dick’s uses 100% real beef (so keep on truckin’ if you’re looking for pink slime!) and brags that their burgers are delivered fresh and never frozen. I wish more fast food joints would figure out that this is the type of thing that keeps customers coming back again and again. Earlier this year Esquire Magazine did a poll for the “Most Life Changing Burger” and expected the usual suspects (national chains like In-n-Out, 5 Guys or Steak ‘n Shake) to claim the title but Dick’s won by a whopping 56%!

Esquire Poll Results

With results like that, it’s no surprise that Dick’s has also claimed a spot on Eater’s list of the top 20 most iconic dishes in Seattle and topped the list of local celebrity chef, Tom Douglas’s favorite burgers in Seattle. [Tom agrees that they're best when paired with a shake! Wonder if he's ever dipped his fries...] While I would certainly agree that Dick’s is a great burger joint, and easily a front runner in Seattle, this conversation often spurs another… Is Dick’s better than In-n-Out? Having had the pleasure of enjoying both, I still can’t decide. I love them both, but in different ways. I love In-n-Out’s secret menu, and enjoy being able to get my burger ‘animal style’, my fries ‘extra crispy’ and a Neapolitan shake (vanilla/choc/strawberry) but Dick’s is a great experience too, and I’d wait in a pretty considerable line to get my fix. [That's my personal litmus test since I'm rather impatient.]

What do you think? 

Since I’m sure by now you’re also thinking of reasons you need to stop by Dick’s, here’s the breakdown:

Food:  High quality greasy goodness. Definitely better than you’ll get at Mc Donald’s or Burger King, but don’t mistake this burger joint for a gourmet dining experience.
Price: CHEAP! $1.50 for fries, $2.70 for a Dick’s Deluxe burger, & $2.15 for a shake — you can’t go wrong for a quick bite!
Overall: Tasty, quick and cheap without a sacrifice on quality. A pretty dangerous combo for your waistline if you’re in walking distance to a Dick’s location!

What they think:
Yelp
Zagat
Dick's Drive-in (Queen Anne) on Urbanspoon

Want to visit Dick’s online? Find them on Facebook and Twitter!  Since they’ve been a notable part of Seattle’s history, enjoy this video full of memories from their website!

6 Responses to “Dick’s Drive-In, Dangerously delicious…”

  1. Lil Kim November 9, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    I have eaten WAY to many burgers in my life, as I have had every one on the Esquire list, except the Port of Call One. Last time I was in Seattle, I found the Red Mill…..i loved that joint. However, Dick’s will always be number one and have a special place in my heart for Seattle’s best burger!

    • amberholick November 9, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Impressed! You should be writing this blog! :) I’ve only made it through 5 on Esquire’s list! Thanks for reading!!

  2. The Sessionista November 9, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    This is making me hungry. :) And I agree, fries dipped in chocolate shakes are superb.

    • amberholick November 9, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      OMG! Is this something I’ve been missing out on for years? It makes it so much harder to have any self control now that I’ve been introduced to the shake-as-a-condiment scene! Thanks for reading!

      • The Sessionista December 2, 2012 at 1:30 am #

        I used to do it as a kid at mcdonald’s all the time. SO GOOD.

  3. jessicanicolehall November 10, 2012 at 12:21 am #

    I love In ‘n Out, Shake Shack, and 5 Guys. My last year in NYC Shake Shack opened a location 4 blocks from my apartment, at my subway stop, and it was dangerous. Good luck staying away from Dick’s everyday! I’ve seen it a few times and wondered how it was, so now I know, I must go!

Leave a Reply

Sybaritica

Celebrating all things culinary ...

My Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Seattle Sessions

Hitting the Town and Hoping it Doesn't Hit Back.

Seattle Downtown Delivery

Your on-demand, anything you want, downtown Seattle delivery service

shinyandbright

The random musings of a techno-geek, pop-culture-observer, and amateur gastro-naut

Purple Rosemary

Art Photography and Other Stuff

This Much iNgo

Living Life on Plan B

It happened in the cafe

Creating community over caffeine

love4dancing

Dancing is the Bees Knees

The pragmatic dilettante’s guide to wine.

Girls + Comics

Exploring female relationships with comic books

Hollywood's Second Golden Age (1981-1989)

A critical re-assessment of 1980s-era filmmaking

Use The Pedals

Leave the car at home. Ride your bike in Seattle!

MoMo not Mama

Babies are my life and I'm not even a mom

Aubri Anne

My first blog page...

Music Shuffle

Finding out new music for our shuffe

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

